Contact Us
The Advocate - News for employees of the Arkansas Department of Correction


Two from Transportation Division Honored for 30 Years of State Service

Director Dexter Payne and members of the ADC Management Team presented two employees from the Transportation Division with plaques for their 30 years of service to the state of Arkansas on September 5, 2019. Something that made this occasion extra-unique is that Sergeants Jesse Beatty and Robert Spencer not only work together currently, but they both began their careers with the ADC on the exact same day back in 1989! We extend a sincere THANK YOU to Sgt. Beatty and Sgt. Spencer for their commitment to the ADC for the past 30 years…and for being exemplary employees!

Sgt. Jesse Beatty

Sgt. Robert Spencer

Chris Coody Recognized for 30 Years of Service to the State of Arkansas

Internal Affairs Investigator Chris Coody of the Compliance Office was recognized for 30 years of dedicated service to the state of Arkansas on August 9, 2019 by being presented a plaque by Director Dexter Payne and members of the Division of Correction Management Team. Thank you for the time you've invested into the agency and to the state of Arkansas!

Keith Waddle Recognized for 30 Years of Service

Disciplinary Hearing Officer Keith Waddle of the Randall Williams Unit was recognized for 30 years of dedicated service to the state of Arkansas with a plaque on August 9, 2019 by Director Dexter Payne and members of the Division of Correction Management Team. Thank you for your service and for the many years you have dedicated to our agency and to the state!

Employee of the Month recipents recognized for May-July at Ouachita River Unit

Congratulations to the following recipients for being named “Employee of the Month” at the Ouachita River Correctional Unit! Keep Up the Good Work!          


                                                                  May 2019
                                          Lillie Buckner, Fiscal Support Specialist
            Pictured with Deputy Warden Outlaw (left) and Deputy Warden Jackson (right)


                                                                     June 2019
                                                        Sheryl Orr, Administrative Analyst
          Pictured with Deputy Warden Jackson (left) and Rehab Program Manager Donna Dycus (right)


                                                                       July 2019
                                                             Corporal Caleb Wood
          Pictured with Deputy Warden Jackson (left) and Deputy Warden Outlaw (right)


Deputy Warden Gray Recognized for 30 Years of Service to the State

Deputy Warden Michelle Gray, of the Barbara Ester Unit in Pine Bluff, was recognized for 30 years of dedicated service to the state of Arkansas when she was presented with a plaque on July 10, 2019 by Arkansas Department of Corrections Secretary Wendy Kelley and members of the Division of Correction Management Team. Congratulations and THANK YOU for the time you’ve invested in serving the ADC and our state, Deputy Warden!


Pine Bluff Complex Superintendent Gaylon Lay and Ester Unit Deputy Warden Michelle Gray

Staff Members Recognized at Ouachita River Correctional Unit

On July 1, 2019, Supentendent DeAngelo Earl and members of the Managagement Team at the Ouachita River Correctional Unit (ORCU) recognized several employees with the following awards:

May 2019 “Shift of The Month” – A-SHIFT 

Pictured here are Superintendent DeAngelo Earl (left), Lt. Benjamin Caple, Lt. Erica Lucas,
Captain Josh Crosby, and Deputy Warden Anthony Jackson.

June 2019 “Shift of the Month” – D-SHIFT 

Pictured with Superintendent Earl and DW Jackson are
Captain Shelia Johnson, Lt. Thomas McClard, and Lt. Lorrenda Jordan.

"Employee of the Quarter" for the Second Quarter 2019:
Lieutenant Kevin Starkey

Lt. Starkey received the honor due to his outstanding work with
the facility’s gardening operation and greenhouse project.

State of Arkansas Ten-Year Service Award:
Billy Ottinger

Pictured with Superintendent Earl, Mr. Ottinger is the
Assistant Maintenance Supervisor at ORCU

ADC Management Level II Certificate: 
Lieutenant Erica Lucas

CONGRATULATIONS to all of the latest ORCU award recipients!

Department of the Month Accolades Awarded at ORCU

CONGRATULATIONS to the following for being recognized as a Department of the Month at the Ouachita River Correctional Unit for June 2019! The honor is awarded to departments that go above and beyond their required duties each month. Staff members were honored and excited to be recognized for their efforts at the unit!





EARU Holds Annual Awards Luncheon to Honor Employees

On May 9, 2019, during Correctional Officers Week, East Arkansas Regional Unit (EARU) celebrated their employees with an annual awards luncheon. ADC Director Wendy Kelley and Chief Deputy Director Dale Reed were on hand to present the awards, along with unit leadership, to the following EARU standouts:
  • Essie Clay – Employee of the Year
  • Pam Dover – Supervisor of the Year
  • Sergeant Brenda Foreman – Correctional Officer of the Year
  • Captain Mond Kelly – Correctional Supervisor of the Year
  • Geneva Jones – Warden’s Outstanding Award
  • Stacy Roebuck – Warden’s Outstanding Award
  • Sergeant Frank Scott – Warden’s Outstanding Award
  • Major Jeffery Deen – 30-Year Service Award
  • Major David Knott – 30-Year Service Award


[LEFT] Employee of the Year: Essie Clay
[RIGHT] Supervisor of the Year: Pam Dover

[LEFT] Correctional Officer of the Year: Sgt. Brenda Foreman
[RIGHT] Correctional Supervisor of the Year: Cpt. Mond Kelly

[LEFT] Warden's Outstanding Award: Geneva Jones
[RIGHT] Warden's Outstanding Award: Stacey Roebuck

[LEFT] Warden's Outstanding Award: Sgt. Frank Scott
[RIGHT] The unit's visitation area was decorated
with a boxing theme for the awards luncheon!


[LEFT] 30-Year Service Award: Maj. Jeffery Deen
[RIGHT] 30-Year Service Award: Maj. David Knott

ORCU Staff Honored with “Team Player” Awards

CONGRATULATIONS to the staff members at the Ouachita River Correctional Unit who were honored with awards for "Best Attitude" and "Team Player" during Correctional Officers Week, observed May 5-11, 2019!


Deputy Warden Jackson, Cpl. Kayla Williams, Cpl. Kelsey West,
Cpl. Caleb Wood, and Cpt. Josh Crosby


Cpl. Richard Salceda (left), Major Christopher, Sgt. Dorothy Griffin,
Sgt. Jeremiah Hardwell, and Deputy Warden Jackson


Cpl. Chris Truehill (left), Deputy Warden Jackson, Cpl. Derek Ivy, and Cpl. Jeremy Casey


Cpl. Jonathan Nooner (left), Deputy Warden Jackson, and Sgt. Kendalynn Newborn

Pratt Recognized for 30 Years of Service to the State

Timothy Pratt, a Corporal in ADC’s Construction Division, was recognized for his 30 years of service to the state of Arkansas with the presentation of a plaque on May 29, 2019. Deputy Director Dexter Payne, who began his career at ADC’s Diagnostic Center working alongside Cpl. Pratt, presented the award on behalf of Director Wendy Kelley and the other members of the ADC Management Team. Thank you for the time you’ve dedicated to the state in your work with our agency, Cpl. Pratt!


Lieutenant Christopher Minor (right) was on hand as his Construction Division
colleague, Cpl. Pratt, received his service award from the Management Team.


Quick Links

Social Media

An ACA Accreditied Agency

Contact Information

Arkansas Department of Correction
6814 Princeton Pike
Pine Bluff, AR 71602
Contact Us | Google Map